Import 3D model from Blender

Hi I am new to all of this, I have imported a 3D model from Blender as an OBJ file, and it is appearing but I am unable to add the textures - the boxes where they can be added aren’t appearing. What am I meant to do?

1 Like

Hello @peterjoslyn9,

Did you dropped the OBJ with the MTL as said in Zappar’s reference? If not, the Zappar isn’t able to map automatic your textures, so u’ll have to do it manually! Like in the following prints:

*Just drop your texture in media library

*click in your object, go in properties and click in materials and then change the materials to your texture

Also, I recomend you this link to read about better pratices (importing, exporting and supported formats mostly) with 3D in Zappar:

https://docs.zap.works/studio/3d-models/

Zappar’s reference for OBJ files:

P.S.: If you have the MTL, just do as said in print!

Hope this have helped you!

att, Higão.

Ah thanks, that seems to work. I have further questions now - how on earth do I get the 3d model to actually turn into a 3d AR image, when I scan a download code? All I get is a flat image version of the front of my object…

1 Like

Hello @peterjoslyn9,

This depends, sometime your objects has multipletimes the same texture, so all you have to do is:

1 - click on your object;
2 - go in properties and then materials;

In material box, you must already have one texture, try to put more one time your texture there. Like this:

Do this like 5 - 10 times to see if any part of the object start to appear.

If this doesn’t work, the problem must be on your 3D project not in Zappar.

att, Higor.

Thanks for replying. I mean I can’t work out how to get what is a 3D model in Studio to actually appear as a 3D model when scanning the Zappar code. So far all I can get is thisimage

I sounds like you don’t have a tracking image or that the model’s relativeTo is not set to the tracking image. You may want to look at the Getting Started Docs

Steve.