Anchoring on-screen buttons

Hello. I want on-screen buttons to be anchored at the top of the screen and at the bottom of the screen so that no matter the screen size the buttons are always in the right position. I’m used to Unity’s anchor points and canvas scaler, which would positions things dynamically depending on screen size.

Right now I have some buttons that are cropped out or can’t be seen at all. A user on here explained to me I could use groups and RelativeTo to anchor them accordingly but I’m still needing to reposition them according to aspect ratio and it’s not as dynamic as I’d hoped… OR I’m just a big NOOB that I’m not using the groups and RelativeTo correctly (if that’s all that’s needed and no scripting).

Not easy, is it :slight_smile:

I need to anchor stuff to top and bottom of the screen, too - a title at the top, a call-to-action button at the bottom, and it’s going to be quite a complex process. We have all the tools we need: we can find out the screen aspect ratio, we can trigger a script when the orientation changes and/or when the device resizes the screen. We can even calculate the camera’s focal length (useful in my case - I want to have our title graphic start on the target image, then smoothly fly up and lock to the phone screen)

The hard part (at least for me) isn’t the code, so much as deciding artistically what the logic should be when a user has their phone in landscape mode. Newer iPhones in landscape mode lose a third or more of their screen height to browser tabs and address bar stuff, leaving you with a really thin but wide strip of canvas to play with.

I don’t think it’s possible to have the same set of UI stuff fit both of these:

… at least, not just by repositioning and rescaling the same “block” of UI. And these are extremes of wide and tall, but iPad users have much squarer canvasses to play with, whether in landscape or portrait layout.