Using Zapcodes in Museum(like) space

I’m an interactive media developer (new to Zapworks but not XR) and am looking at a project with AR attached to museum exhibits.

Based on Zapworks’ capabilities, it seems like using Zapcodes that are physically on the exhibits could work.

Just a couple questions / concerns:

1. No issue with having a number of zapcodes in the same space? How does it prioritize?
  2. Can zapcodes themselves be used as the anchor location for AR experiences? Must I have an additional tracking image? I did a quick test of using my Zapcode as a source for a tracked image, which seemed to work as both the launcher and the tracker–is that a good way to do this?
  3. My client would probably prefer that the experiences are not portable, as they would be designed to compliment a physical exhibit. Any recommendations to help ensure that the experiences are only used while actually looking at the exhibits?

Thanks for your thoughts.

As far as I understand it, you can have as many zapcode triggers as you wish. Each zapcode triggers its own separate experience. If you mean having multiple visible on screen when you’re trying to scan, I assume that the Zappar app will just scan whichever it recognizes first—so just make sure there’s enough clear space around it for someone to scan the one they were intending on scanning.

Edit: If you intend on only using one trigger, but using zapcodes as multiple tracking images in the same experiene, I highly recommend checking out this thread on multiple tracking images. It’s not officially supported by Zapworks Studio (if that happens to be the way you’re designing the experience) and requires some scripting, but it is technically possible. I will say that if your tracking images are too similar (like I worry using just zapcodes as tracking images would be) you might trigger the wrong element on accident.