I'm such a newbie! can anyone help?

I know that that this technology is out of my current reach of understanding, but I want to learn how to do this!
I have a personal account for Zapworks. I’ve learned how to work the widgets and designer modes.

I’ve had fun making interactive photo cards. etc… The widgets and designer modes are almost too easy, but quite appropriate for the specific needs. For me, I was completely interested in creating your own 3d character in conjunction with this app.

I’ve had Zapworks for a few days and have loved it. I’ve actually been on it, almost non stop, for the past few days! I’m learning studio right now, but, I got this wanting to make my own interactive characters with Zapworks.

I’m an art teacher that teaches multimedia and I think that this is the highest level of multimedia that I can find.
I want to learn how to do this, personally and completely, before I introduce it my my school and my students in the fall. I basically need to find the path of least resistance. What my ultimate goal is: to have my students do a painting and then add a Zapcode to it with the interactive images/ people/ characters that they have done in 2D.

I have a few questions:
1. Which is better: Blender, Maya, or something else to create a 3d character? Better is defined by simplicity. Total control isn’t really desired?
We have a 3d printer and use Leopoly and Tinkercad to build our models. They save in different formats (STL). I’m assuming that Blender or Maya or other programs work in a similar manner?

**2.**In designer mode, adding a new slide is easy and making it do an action in that slide is easy. But, in studio… I’m having troubles figuring out how to do that…?

I wish that there was one more level between Designer and Studio… The difference is such a quantum leap!