WIP - My favourite holiday destinations

Hey guys,

My name is Chris and I am the Product Manager here at ZapWorks. I decided to have a go creating a project for the augmented portal competition. I am by no means an expert at Studio, but I thought I would put a few hours aside to see what I could produce based on some of the learning materials that we have put out of the last couple of years.

The experience that I am building is based on my favourite holiday destinations that I have visited. The concept is that I can print out the target image, scan the code and be transported to some of the best places in the world!
Check it out by scanning the target image here.

By the way, not that I think it would, but as a Zappar employee I cannot win the competition. This one is just for fun!

Backrgound-image-zapcode|490

Some interesting problems I encountered:

1. Rotating the door - When it came to creating the door opening animation, I realised that the rotation of the image could only be done from the middle of the image. This wouldn’t work as I needed it to act like it was hinged to the frame. I realised that if I put the image within a group, then I could position the image in such a way that by rotating the group, it meant the door opened exactly how I wanted it to.

2. Flickering images - When I layered the different images on the target image, I placed them all at the same z-axis depth. This led to a strange flickering as the Zappar app tried to work out which image to present in what order. To solve this, I gave each of the layers a slightly different z depth (0.001) different, which appears to have solved the problem.

3. Creating the different scenes - This was actually really simple. To create the second scene with the image in Hong Kong, I duplicated the timeline that I had created for the beach scene, added the plane material property to the new timeline and changed the materials at all of the keyframes. It worked perfectly.